GECATS diagonal
     PRINT     I    DEUTSCH
Competence Atlas
Legal Notice
About us
What we do

gecats bei twitter

Alwin Mittasch Prize

This international prize is awarded for outstanding work that has contributed towards extending the fundamentals of catalysis and its exemplary application in industry. The award originated as the Alwin Mittasch Medal for catalysis research in Europe founded by BASF AG in 1990. The prize, which is no longer confined to Europe, comprises a gold medal, a certificate, and € 10.000 cash award. It is sponsored by BASF SE and is awarded every three years. The prize-winner is selected by an expert panel with members from both academia and industry.


Winners of the Alwin Mittasch Medal are:

  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Ertl (1990), Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Jerzy Haber (1992),Institut für Katalyse und Oberflächenchemie, Krakau/PL
  • Prof. Dr. phil. Hans-Herbert Brintzinger (1995), Universität Konstanz
  • Prof. Dr. rer.nat. Walter Kaminsky (1995), Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. rer.nat. Dr.-Ing. Senator a.D. Hansjörg Sinn (1995), Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. rer.nat. Wilhelm Keim (1998), RWTH Aachen
  • Prof. Dr. rer.nat. Helmut Knözinger (1998), Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Prof. Dr. Rutger Anthony van Santen (2001), TU Eindhoven/NL
  • Prof. Dr. Avelino Corma (2006), Technische Universität Valencia / Spanien
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jens Weitkamp (2009), Universität Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr. Jens K. Nørskov (2009), Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby/DK
  • Prof. Dr. Graham Hutchings (2012), Cardiff Catalysis Institute/UK
  • Prof. Dr. Takashi Tatsumi (2012), Tokyo Institute of Technology, Yokohama/Japan
  • Prof. Dr. Pierre A. Jacobs (special prize 2013), Universität Leuven/B
  • Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl (2015), Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Xinhe Bao (2017), Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, China
  • Prof. Dr. David Cole-Hamilton (2017), University of St. Andrews/UK
  • Prof. Dr. Piet W.N.M. van Leeuwen (2019), INSA, Toulouse/France
  • Prof. Dr. Johannes A. Lercher (2021), TU München